Zoom

  1. Make sure your Zoom Client is running the latest version
  2. Use security options when scheduling a meeting 
  3. Enable the Waiting Room 
  4. Security options during your meeting 

 

How to:

  1. Make sure your Zoom Client is running the latest version on Mac and Windows: 
  1. Once the Zoom Meetings Client is launched, click on your user icon on the top right.  From the dropdown menu click 'Check for Updates'. If new updates are available, a message will appear that says 'Update Available'. Click on 'Update' to install.

 

  1. Use security options when scheduling a meeting:
  1. Require registration: This shows you every email address of everyone who signed up to join your meeting.
  2. Use a random meeting ID: It’s best practice to generate a random meeting ID, so it can’t be shared multiple times. (Personal Meeting ID are not advised because it’s basically an ongoing meeting that’s always running).
  3. Password-protect the meeting: Create a password and share with your participants via email so only those intended to join can access.
  4.  Allow only authenticated users to join: Checking this box means only members of your organization who are signed into their Zoom account can access this particular meeting.
  5.  Disable join before host: Participants cannot join meeting before the host joins and will see a pop-up that says, “The meeting is waiting for the host to join”.
  6.  Mute participants on entry:  All your participants will enter the meeting muted. This will keep the clamor at bay when everyone files in.

 

Enable the Waiting Room:

  • The Waiting Room feature is one of the best ways to protect your Zoom virtual meeting and keep out those who aren’t supposed to be there. When enabled, you have two options for who hits the Waiting Room before entering a meeting/class:

1. All Participants will send everyone to the virtual waiting area, where you can admit them individually or all at once.

2. Guest Participants Only allows known participants or people in your organization to skip the Waiting Room and join, but sends anyone not signed in/part of your organization into the virtual waiting area.

The Waiting Room feature is automatically turned on by default. Visit Zoom’s support page for more information on adjusting your Waiting Room settings.

 

Security options during your meeting 

  1. In your Zoom meeting, there is a toolbar at the bottom of the screen. Click on the ‘Security’ icon.

This will allow you to:

  • Lock Meeting (Once your meeting starts, participates can no longer enter)
  • Enable or Disable: Allow Participates to Share Screen, Chat, and Rename themselves.